City of Alpharetta Website Banner
CITY HALL ONLINE / Your City Government > Voters & Election Information


The Qualifications To Run For Office Include:

1. The mayor and the members of the city council shall serve for terms of four (4) years and until their respective successors are elected and qualified. Terms of office shall begin on the January second immediately following the date of election to office for all persons elected at regular elections. No person shall be eligible to serve unless that person shall have been a resident of the city for six (6) months prior to the date of election; shall have attained the age of twenty-one (21) years prior to the date of election; shall continue to reside in the city during that member's period of service; and shall be registered and qualified to vote in municipal elections of this city.

2. No council member elected and qualified for three (3) consecutive terms shall be eligible for the succeeding term.

3. No mayor elected and qualified for two (2) consecutive terms shall be eligible for the succeeding term.

For questions or for more information please contact Coty Thigpen, City Clerk, at 678-297-6003 or



If you are not yet registered to vote in City of Alpharetta, Fulton County or national elections, here's how you can register:

To register to vote you must:

Be a citizen of the United States

Be a legal resident of Georgia

Be at least 17 ½ years of age (at least 18 to vote)

Not be serving a sentence for a conviction of a felony involving moral turpitude

Have not been found mentally incompetent by a judge.

Your social security number is also required at time of registration.

A number of registration locations are usually available around town just prior to elections or you can contact the Fulton County Voter Registration office at (404) 730-7072 or Voter Registration office at the Georgia Secretary of State's office.



Absentee Voting
Alpharetta residents only may cast their Absentee Ballot at the Fulton County Voters Registration office located at 7741 Roswell Road, Atlanta, Georgia.

Absentee Applications
Absentee applications can be obtained at City Hall, 2 Park Place, Alpharetta and mailed to Fulton County voters registration office.

Please mail absentee ballot application to Fulton County Department of Voter Registration and Elections; 141 Pryor Street, SW; Suite 4064; Atlanta, GA 30303-3461.

For further information regarding Voting By Mail, please contact the Voter Registration Division by calling (404) 612-7060 or by fax at (404) 730-8839.

Advance Voting
Advance Voting for Alpharetta residents only will be at held at Fulton County voters Registration Office-7741 Roswell Road, Atlanta, Georgia. You do not have to provide a reason to Advance Vote. 

How do I vote?

The Fulton County Voter Registration Office, (404) 730-7072, handles voter registration for all Fulton County residents regardless of the city or unincorporated area where they reside.

You must be registered to vote in an election. You must be registered as a resident within the area in which you intend to vote.

You must be registered 29 days prior to the election date.

You will be mailed a voter registration card from Fulton County. Your precinct and polling location will be designated on the card. For more information on voter registration, contact the Fulton County Voter Registration Office (404) 730-7072.

In order to obtain an absentee ballot, a Fulton County registered voter fills out an "application for official absentee ballot" that can be obtained at City Hall, public library, or from the Secretary of State website:( The application is then mailed to: Fulton County Voter Registration, Suite 4064, 141 Pryor Street, S.W., Atlanta, GA 30303, or can be faxed to Fulton County (404-730-7024). Fulton County will mail the ballot to the voter and the ballot is then mailed back to Fulton County. It has to be received by Fulton County by 7:00pm, November 6.

OR, the voter can go directly to North Fulton Annex at 7741 Roswell Road, fill out the application, and vote there.

You may register to vote at any of these locations:

Fulton County Government Building
141 Pryor Street, Atlanta

North Fulton Annex
7741 Roswell Road, Atlanta

College Park

Also, any public library or facility that issues driver’s licenses.

Mail-in registration forms are available for pick up at the Alpharetta City Hall. 

Where do I vote?
Fulton County designates and manages the precinct boundaries and polling locations. To find out what precinct you are in as a voter or where you will vote, contact the Fulton County Board of Elections at (404) 730-7020.


    Print this page   Comment on this page